Members Reader Rigs

Old 09-01-2010, 02:32 PM   #1
PassDTabb
Noobie

Member ID: 12200
View My Jeep Specs
Default Tire width safety on lifted wrangler

Hello everyone. I'm new to the forum and have a question regarding the safety of tire width on lifted jeeps.

I own a 2002 wrangler sport that has a skyjacker body lift and off road suspension. I honestly don't know if the suspension is higher than the original. The body lift looks to be about 2.5 or 3". I currently have over sized tires. They are 33" and about 10" wide.
I live in the middle of Houston, TX and don't use the jeep for off roading (I would love to, but I am a college student and can't afford the repairs on potential damage from off roading, on top of the usual car maintenance costs). I purchased the car already modified.

I am having huge issues with hydroplaning in medium/heavy rain if I'm driving 35 mph or higher. I believe that replacing my tires with narrower ones will alleviate the problem, but I don't know how narrow I should go. Will I compromise safety if I go to a 7" or 8" width? I want the hydroplaning issue to stop, but I don't want to cause a flipping issue either. I also will get tires that are smaller than 33".

Does anyone have any advice or suggestions to make my jeep safer? Will anyone suggest a particular size and width? I am so attached to the jeep that I really don't want to trade it for a more city friendly vehicle. I figured a jeep forum with others that love their jeeps like I love mine would know better than anyone!

I really appreciate any help!
PassDTabb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-06-2010, 08:34 AM   #2
Sparky-Watts
King of the Rocks

Member ID: 9191
View My Jeep Specs

First of all, welcome to J-O! I can't believe nobody has answered your question yet, that's pretty unusual for this place.